Paper towns – John Green

20170114_111551.jpg

Title: Paper towns
Author: John Green
Publisher: Penguin
Genre: Young Adult
Price: €9,36
Rating: 5/10

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life–dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge–he follows.
After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues–and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

It took me 2 years to read this books, does that say enough? Probably. I started this book during my summer holidays 2 years ago full of expectations, the other John Green books were amazing. With all the other books I had a tough time getting through the first half, but it was worse with this one. After like a 150 pages I had no idea what I was reading, which was very annoying ofcourse, so I decided to put this book away.

I really can’t live with an unfinished book on my shelves, so I decided to start again last summer. I hoped that I would understand the story better if I watched the film first, so I bought it. I really did help me understand the books, but I didn’t help me wanting the read the books. I hated the end soo much! Like why would you read 300 pages for nothing?

I still wanted to read the book, so I started anyway. It was nice to read a story that I understood and it did make the book better. I started to like it, but the end still bothered me. So when a friend asked if she could borrow the book for school I didn’t need to think about it very long.

A few 100 words later I came to the point where I read the last part. I did like the first half, with the looking for clues. The characters were very nice. This group of friends is so weird together that it’s funny to read. Everyone has his or her own little story around the real one, which was very cool.
Okay Quinten is a little naive, but that had also something cute.

Further the end it started to become worse again. Not much happened and it started to annoy me again. The end was different than in the film, in a good way, but still horrible.

I really disliked Paper towns comparing to the other John Green boek. I didn’t get through the style of writing and the end was nothing for me. De nice and funny characters saved the book a little, but I couldn’t get over the boring end.
Did you like this book or do you understand what I mean?

 

Leave a Reply

