Alice in Zombieland – Gena Showalter

20170211_121343.jpg

Want to read this in Dutch? Click here

Title: Alice in Zombieland (The white rabbit chronicles #1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Publisher: Harlequin Young Adult
Genre: Young Adult
Price: €17,70,-
Rating: 7/10

If anyone had told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.
Her father was right. The monsters are real.
To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies.

Is a book about zombies something for me? I actually sure that it wasn’t. I don’t like films about zombies as well, they are so dirty and creepy. However I always had the feeling that I really wanted to read this books, okay maybe it had something to do with the cover. Why I think so? Well like I already said, I don’t like zombies and I don’t know Alice in Wonderland. Well I do know it, but I wouldn’t know how the story goes. When I heard that Gena is coming to Yalfest I thought it’s the perfect moment to give the book a chance.

So the story is about Alice who lost her parents after a zombie attack. I didn’t really have an opinion about Alice. She was quite normal and invisable, but it was nice for a main character. Her grandparents, where she stays at after the accident, are very strick with was annoying. I do get why you want to protect your granddaughter after she’s been to something like that, but I don’t think this is the best way.

Because she goes to live with her grandparents she has to go to a new school. I think I can say it was a weird school. I don’t think any normal person goes there. First you have her group of friends, with her best friends Kat. She is the leader of the group and also a bit bossy, but besides that she’s nice. She always had something interesting to do or to say.

Then there’s also the group that Cole leads. Also known as the bad guys. Although they’re actually just dangerous. From the beginning there has been a sort of tension between Cole and Alice, they have weird visions as they look at eachother. Despite the warning form Kat Alice still feels attracked to Cole, which leads to nice moments in the story.

De zombies also had a big part in the story, but luckily a lot less than I expected. They are also less horrible when you read about them instead of seeing them. So in the end it didn’t really bother me, it could’ve been just normal monsters. I thought it was more a nice addition to a average story instead of annoying.

So against all my expectations I really thought Alice in Zombieland was very nice and exciting. After I’ve read all the other books for Yalfest I really want to continue this series.

What did you think of this book?

 

Leave a Reply

