Did I mention I love you – Estelle Maskame

20170208_215640

Want to read this in Dutch? Click here

Title: Did I mention I love you (Did I mention I love you #1)
Author: Estelle Maskame
Publisher: Moon
Genre: Young Adult
Price: €9,49
Rating: 8/10

When sixteen-year-old Eden Munro agrees to spend the summer with her estranged father in the beachfront city of Santa Monica, California, she has no idea what she’s letting herself in for. Eden’s parents are divorced and have gone their separate ways, and now her father has a brand new family. For Eden, this means she’s about to meet three new step-brothers.
The eldest of the three is Tyler Bruce, a troubled teenager with a short temper and a huge ego. Complete polar opposites, Eden quickly finds herself thrust into a world full of new experiences as Tyler’s group of friends take her under their wing. But the one thing she just can’t understand is Tyler, and the more she presses to figure out the truth about him, the more she finds herself falling for the one person she shouldn’t – her step-brother.
Throw in Tyler’s clingy girlfriend and a guy who has his eyes set on Eden, and there’s secrets, lies and a whole lot of drama. But how can Eden keep her feelings under control? And can she ever work out the truth about Tyler?
I must say I really enjoy a good love story, but a story about a stepbrother and stepsister? I wasn’t really sure about it and I wasn’t planning on reading it. But after hearing a lot about it from a dutch YouTube who was really enthusiastic about it, I started to doubt. I usually like the same books as she does, so it couldn’t be that bad right?

My cousin told me I could pick out a book for my birthday when we were shopping in another city. We were already in the bookstore for some time because I really couldn’t pick one. That was until I found a signed version of this books. I didn’t have to think about it very long and it was time for me to give this series a chance.

The story is about Eden who goes to her dad in Los Angeles for a whole summer after she hadn’t heard from him for 3 years. She doesn’t really want to see him and neither does she want to meet her stepfamily, but she is excited for the city and she wants to get away from her hometown. She is quite new with everything, like the parties and the town. Her new friends, who she know through Rachel the girl who lives next to her, show her everything.

Because she goes to a lot of parties she gets in trouble with her father a lot. Tyler, her stepbrother, is actually worse. He doesn’t get home sometimes, when he does he is drunk and he fights a lot in his family. He isn’t nice to Eden  and she doesn’t want anything to do with him. That’s quite hard, because he’s in her new group oy yf friends, just like his girlfriend Tiffani, who is the girl who you think of with the word “bitch”. The group is kind of fun, but it did annoy me that they think it’s so normal to have a lot of money.

Throughout the books things slowly start to develop between Tyler and Eden, but I was glad that they knew it wasn’t normal. That made me kind of okay with it. However I would rather have her stepbrother Tyler and her boyfriend Tyler being 2 different persons.
You know they both have secrets, but I didn’t like it that they threw it all out at 1 point. First you knew nothing and 2 pages further you knew everything. It would’ve been better if it was more spread out.

Despite my annoyance about the relationships between familymembers I really enjoyed this book. You could really feel how it was in the city and it al sounded like so much fun. I don’t know if it will happen very fast, but I really hope to read the other books sometime.

What did you think of this book?

Leave a Reply

